02
Jul
09

A Walk in the Park

I take Gidi, my beloved dog, out for his evening stroll. Upon passing through the narrow lane that leads to the park, I see Crazy Old Woman heading towards us. It’s the old woman who always looks extremely sad, and always has numerous plastic bags full of, most probably, trivial items. We never talk, or even say hello. That’s what people do in America, not here.

 

IMG_5409

I tighten my grip on Gidi’s leash, tugging him closer to me. It’s a pretty narrow passageway, and I know most people don’t like the way Gidi looks. He’s an Amstaff, and Amstaffs have a bad rep in Israel. But I didn’t think Gidi’s looks would trigger the response I got from the Crazy Old Lady.

“He’s ugly.”

“What!?”

“He’s ugly.”

“Who’s ugly?”, I asked, as Crazy Old Lady passed me by and didn’t even look back.

“Your dog. He’s an ugly dog.”

The only thing I could come up quick enough was “You’re ugly yourself!”, I yell at Crazy Old Lady’s hunched back.

Pretty lame, I know. I kept walking, fuming, but then attempted to calm myself down: “She’s a crazy old lady, Ami, take it easy”.

I guess I’m kind of over-sensitive with Gidi these days. He’s got lymphoma, and probably won’t make it through July.

We go around the park. When I get back to the narrow lane leading to the house, guess who’s coming down? Crazy Old Lady.

I tense up, imagining myself giving Gidi the order: “Kill Gidi, kill!”. Even if I wanted to, he wouldn’t. He’s pretty sure he’s a poodle.

“I was kidding! He’s a pretty dog!”

“Really, think so?”

“Yes, of course!”, Crazy Old Lady says and bends down to pet Gidi, at which point Gidi jumps up to lick her face and scares the living daylights out of Crazy Old Lady.

Justice.

IMG_5411


7 Responses to “A Walk in the Park”


  1. July 3, 2009 at 02:57

    Did you tell her that you were kidding and you think she’s pretty too?
    Kiss Gidi from me!

  2. 3 Shelly
    July 3, 2009 at 06:38

    In America, as you well know, no one would dare say that your dog is ugly. But if your dog perhaps felt ugly, or had an ugly self-image, you can bet they could recommend a good “dog shrink” that specializes in such canine complexes. Unfortunately the “crazy old lady” is beyond help!

  3. 5 Sara
    July 5, 2009 at 17:21

    Best dog in the world. Except I don’t believe he thinks he’s a poodle, he thinks he’s a chihuahua

    • 6 shmookty
      July 5, 2009 at 20:09

      And the winner of this week’s “Best Comment on Half & Half” is…… SARA MILLER, from Tel Aviv, Israel!!!! Sara, you’re invited to Bavli to come and get your complimentary Gidi-face-lick!!!! 🙂

      • 7 Sara Miller
        July 7, 2009 at 12:00

        I’m honoured. You know I don’t come over to see you guys anyway. I’m all about the Amstaff…


Leave a comment


July 2009
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Comments