06
Nov
09

A Real Eye Opener

It’s been a long time since I’ve done some daddy-blogging. So allow me to let you in on a mini-epiphany I had earlier today.
Have you ever looked at yourself in the mirror while shaving\putting on make-up\brushing your teeth and so on, and then just stop for a second, look at yourself a bit closer, and feel like you’re kind of looking inside yourself?
I hope that doesn’t sound weird. It doesn’t happen to me often, just every once in a while. So, just to make sure I’m not cuckoo, I asked Karen if it’s ever happened to her, and she said it has. It’s almost as if you feel for a split second that you know yourself a bit better, a bit deeper. The only thing that I can think of to maybe express it better, is what people who practice Buddhism call “awareness”. That’s what I feel, some sort of awareness.
Earlier today, all four of us (Me, Karen, Emma and Lea) went to a wedding of a former Haaretz colleague of mine. Later on, after the food, Emma and I were fooling around on the dance floor. 
At one moment, I bent down to pick her up, and she looked at me. We were both looking at each other’s eyes, and that’s when I got that feeling again. 
But it wasn’t like I was seeing deep down into Emma’s soul or anything. Nope. Actually, it felt exactly how it feels when I get one of those moments looking at MYSELF in the mirror. 
That moment made me feel closer to Emma than I’ve ever felt before. 
Yeah, I hugged her alright.emma glass
16 Responses to “A Real Eye Opener”


  1. 2 Ann-Christine
    November 6, 2009 at 22:52

    Beautiful!

  2. 3 Uri Leventer
    November 6, 2009 at 23:05

    I’m moved to learn that Maya and I weren’t the only people to feel new feelings for the first time today, or for that matter – to feel closer than ever before to someone we love. Glad we provided the platform for this amazing moment you described – I’ll sure remember this day forever, now you may too. Thanks again for coming! really! we can’t wait to hang out with your amazing family more when we’re back here.

  3. 4 shmookty
    November 7, 2009 at 09:02

    Ann, Mo – Thank you so much!

    Uri – Shouldn’t you be on your honeymoon in Bora Bora instead of answering blogs? 🙂
    It was a beautiful wedding, and you and Maya are such a gorgeous couple! And yes, you must come back soon!

    Ami

  4. 5 ADA
    November 7, 2009 at 10:22

    התרגשתי…באמת

    אני בדיוק קוראת עכשיו מאמר שאני צריכה לסכם ללימודים שקוראים לו “מה שלמדתי מילדיי” וזה כאנלוגיה לטיפול מדבר על תשומת לב, על חיים בהווה, על יופיו של המשחק. אבל בעיקר על היכולת “להיות” ומה שתארת היה בדיוק ההיות הזה.

    נשיקות
    עדה

    • 6 shmookty
      November 7, 2009 at 18:31

      תודה אחות.
      אני חושב שאני מתחיל לאחרונה להבין את גודל הפוטנציאל להבין כל מיני דברים דרך אמה

  5. November 8, 2009 at 09:58

    מרגש מאוד אחי. נגעת בנקודה חזקה ביותר!
    מכיר את הרגעים האלה היטב.
    גם העיניים של אביב ושלי נפגשות לפעמים וצמרמורת עוברת לי בגוף
    הילדים הם ללא ספק המראה שלנו. לטוב או לרע.
    חשוב רק לזכור שבאיזשהו שלב בחיים, המראה הזו תופסת כיוון משלה ואנחנו ההורים צריכים לדעת לשחרר ולאפשר למראה הזו ליפול רחוק מהעץ, אם היא תרצה כמובן.

    מתוך טור (24): ילד אסור ילד מותר:
    http://blog.muzza.co.il/?p=428

    על דבר אחד אני משוכנע שנסכים כולנו. הילדים שלנו הם המראה שלנו ואם משהו אצלם “לא בסדר”, כדאי שנבדוק תחילה את עצמנו!

    קבלו סרטון יוטיוב חזק (92 שניות) שיזיז אתכם מהכיסא. אני מבטיח לכם שאחרי שתסיימו לצפות בו, תשאלו את עצמכם הרבה שאלות. נסו לענות עליהן בכנות.
    לילדים שלכם (שלנו) – זה עשוי לעשות רק טוב.

    קישור embed:

  6. November 8, 2009 at 13:21

    ודרך אגב אחי,
    איך לא ציינתי זאת קודם –
    איזו יפיפייה אמה!!! חמסה עליה, טפו טפו טפו, שילוב מדהים של שניכם
    🙂
    מחכים עוד לביקור שלכם…

    נ.ב. – תודה על הקישור שנתת לי שסיידבר. מעריך זאת מאוד! רק שהוא לא ס

  7. November 8, 2009 at 13:29

    …רק שהוא לא מעודכן

  8. November 11, 2009 at 05:38

    One day when Eytan was a newborn (and would be still long enough for me to look into his eyes, as opposed to the constantly moving body he is now) I looked at him and, just as you described, he looked me in the eyes, and it was as though I was looking back at myself. For the record, Eytan doesn’t really look like me. There was just something I couldn’t put into words that gave me goose bumps. I realized at that moment that the word “love” would never be sufficient to describe all of the emotions I feel towards that little human being. It’s a pretty powerful thing.
    Thank you for bringing me back to that moment.

  9. November 15, 2009 at 02:47

    It’s quite funny, I just realised that Israel is REALLY a small country – turns out I’m friends with the groom of the wedding you’re talking about!


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Recent Comments

Twitter

  • RT @i24NEWS_EN: ' @AvigdorLiberman's thoughts are like the white man's thoughts - the white man against the others' - Ramy Sayegy, Politica… 11 hours ago
  • RT @i24NEWS_EN: The Nation State Bill - how does Israel compare to other countries? How do Israeli-Arabs feel about this?… 11 hours ago
  • RT @ABC: MORE: Police and emergency personnel responding to the Port Authority Bus Terminal in New York to investigate reports of an "explo… 15 hours ago
  • RT @NBCNews: JUST IN: New York City officials confirm there has been an explosion near 42nd street and 8th Avenue, cause not yet clear 15 hours ago
  • RT @ABC: DEVELOPING: NYPD responding to reports of "explosion of unknown origin" at 42nd Street and 8th Ave in NYC; A, C and E subway lines… 15 hours ago

