19
Aug
09

Paradise in Rosh Pina

Karen and I usually do our zimmer-vacationing in a small village called Matat, near the Lebanese border. We like it up there, because it’s very secluded. But this time we went up to Rosh Pina, because we wanted to be closer to some restaurants and shopping.
After hours searching the net, and almost giving up, I stumbled upon a little zimmer (cabin) called “Gloria’s Romantic Garden of Eden”. I immediately called up, after seeing the pics on the site, and Gloria answered the phone. She asked if I spoke English, and I told her I was, well, a “Half & Half”, and she yelled out to her husband “Jerald! There’s a nice American boy on the phone who wants to come over!”.
The room is situated at the bottom of their old stone house, with walls so thick you don’t need air-conditioning in the August heat. And boy, was it hot then. The small yet cozy room has everything you need, but one of the perks is the private swimming pool just outside. Most places that have pools have to share it with at least 3 or 4 other zimmers. So this was nice.
But the biggest perk of all are those two Brits, Gloria and Jerald. Gloria makes an amazing breakfast, and you can sit with her forever, listening to her about her life in England, Memphis (yeah, Memphis!), Manhattan, her father who was a chazan, her crazy parties in NY and her close friendship with Nina Simone and Shoshana Damari (with pics to prove it!). Jerald will tell you all about the house, situated smack in the center of the old restored part of the moshava. Menachem Begin himself hid in the house from the British on the 1940’s!
So, this is defenitely a Half & Half zimmer for all my Half & Half readers out there! Enjoy!
IMG_6084 (Large)
IMG_6093 (Large)IMG_6103 (Large)IMG_6085 (Large)
IMG_6092 (Large)

IMG_6114 (Large)

IMG_6086 (Large)

8 Responses to “Paradise in Rosh Pina”


  1. August 19, 2009 at 16:25

    That place looks absolutely idyllic. I usually prefer Metulla to Rosh Pina, but seriously – next time I am looking for a weekend getaway up north, I’m going to Gloria’s.

    BTW, you didn’t mention prices. I know they’re seasonal, but just a general idea…

    Also, how was Ahuzat Dajani? I’m thinking of putting it on my reading list.

    • 2 shmookty
      August 19, 2009 at 16:35

      Trust me, you’ll love it…
      It was 750 a night with a great breakfast. Not cheap, but actually not bad for Rosh Pina, where prices are really high.
      Ahuzat Djani was great, very different. A good, easy and enjoyable read. And it’s a great lesson on the origins of modern day Hebrew.

  2. 4 shmookty
    August 20, 2009 at 15:25

    Good question Jodi, I’ll have to get back to you on that one…

  3. 5 Michael
    October 4, 2009 at 19:58

    This place looks great. I’m looking for a romantic place to spend a night or 2 with my girlfriend. Will this be everything I’m looking for? Is it secluded? We will have privacy? Will it impress? Is it very clean and comfortable? I’ll be there in January so I need it to be warm. Did they have heat? Firepalce? Do you know if there are good places in the area to propose? Are there special places to eat in the area?

    You said it was 750…is that in USD or shekels?

    Thanks for the help!

  4. 6 shmookty
    October 4, 2009 at 20:08

    It’s clean, comfortable, and very private. There surely are more impressive zimmers around, but you’ll pay an arm and a leg for it. In this place you get the best bang for your buck. And the hosts are amazing.
    There’s no fireplace, but there is AC and a heater. And many places to eat all around Rosh Pina. It’s in shekels.

  5. 7 Michael
    October 4, 2009 at 20:21

    Thanks for the response. You mentioned that there were more impressive zimmers. Can you recommend a few that I can look into. I’m specifically looking for the perfect area to ask my girlfriend to marry me.

    Thank you

  6. 8 shmookty
    October 5, 2009 at 23:37

    Mazal Tov!
    Take a look at this site, where I found this place:
    http://www.hapisga.co.il


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Comments

Twitter


